BJP's Prayagraj Lawmaker Resigns, To Contest From Akhilesh Yadav's Party

New Delhi: 

In a blow to the BJP, its lawmaker from Uttar Pradesh’s Prayagraj today resigned and joined Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party. Shyama Charan Gupta will contest the Lok Sabha elections from Banda as a Samajwadi Party candidate.

A former Samajwadi Party man, Mr Gupta had contested Lok Sabha elections from Banda on a Samajwadi Party ticket in 1999 but had lost to a candidate from Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party. He, however, won from Banda in 2004.

Mr Gupta had contested from Phulpur in 2009 as a Samajwadi Party candidate but lost the elections.

A prominent Baniya leader in eastern Uttar Pradesh, Mr Gupta contested as a BJP candidate from Allahabad, now known as Prayagraj, in 2014 and won.

The announcement of Mr Gupta’s switch comes hours before the BJP is to release its first list for the Lok Sabha elections.

The national elections will be held in seven phases starting April 11. Results will be counted on May 23.

Get the latest election news, live updates and election schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the 2019 Indian general elections.

What do you think?

Warning: explode() expects parameter 2 to be string, array given in /home/erbilia/public_html/wp-content/plugins/snax/includes/votes/template.php on line 43

Warning: array_merge(): Argument #2 is not an array in /home/erbilia/public_html/wp-content/plugins/snax/includes/votes/template.php on line 43
0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by erbilia

Janata Dal Secular's Danish Ali Joins Mayawati's Party Ahead Of Polls

Owning a Call of Duty eSports franchise could cost $25 million